Five Years …

… That’s how long it’s been since this little blogging endeavor got off the ground.

What’s happened since 2009 in my personal genealogy hunting, you might ask? Well, I’ve had my share of discoveries, some satisfying and some simply bizarre.

Like finally confirming the identity of my Connors ancestors in Watervliet, N.Y., for example, along with their offshoots in Jersey City, which, in turn, solved a little mystery that was the subject of one of my very first posts.

I discovered that there is indeed such a thing as a “butt factory.”

Also, I discovered that I am not the only person (not by a long shot) who has wondered about things like slumgullion and Anythin’ for Thanksgiving.

There are ongoing, tantalizingly incomplete stories to unravel. For example, the great-aunt on our German side who had immigrated to New York City, unknown to anyone. How did my grandfather manage to forget to mention a sister? She was a real mystery for a few years there. I know more about her rather complicated story now, with still more to unravel (and write about, in due course).

Or the story of Patrick Hageney of Troy, N.Y.: Famine-era immigrant, tailor, question mark. There are many indications, but unfortunately no smoking-gun evidence, that he’s a brother of my great-great-grandfather Martin Haigney. Will I ever be satisfied on this point?

Or on any point? Are any of us ever completely satisfied with the state of our genealogy research?

Probably not. But stay tuned. And thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Five Years …”

  1. Linda Bonavita says:

    Seems like you just started this blog, Liz…which leads me to say the posts are a pleasure to read. Spurs me on to wonder & discover my family history. Interesting that the “greats”, grandfathers, grandmothers, etc. had “lost” family members who are now uncovered, re-discovered by this generation.

    Thanks again and….Keep on truckin” !

    Linda

  2. Helen says:

    Always a pleasure to read your posts. Congrats on the milestone!

  3. chmjr2 says:

    Five years! Well done and here is to at least five more.


Leave a Reply

