Resource Spotlight: Catholic Churches Map

As I just said, I’ve spent a few hours reconsidering and reorganizing my links section here, which meant looking — I mean, REALLY looking — at my bookmarks. I don’t want the links sidebar to become Godzilla, but that meant leaving out some neat bookmarks. Hence:

Resource Spotlight!

Today’s Spotlight is a beautiful little Google map of Brooklyn Catholic Churches.

churchmap

This was created by Google user patatie in 2009, and lists a couple of dozen Brooklyn R.C. parishes, along with the dates they were established. I am not entirely sure that it is comprehensive, but it is a nice, quick glance at parishes in Brooklyn, and will certainly give you a good idea of just how localized Catholic identity can get in this neck of the woods.

I have a number of these little tools and snippets hanging around my bookmarks, and I’ll continue to highlight some of the more interesting ones.

4 Comments on “Resource Spotlight: Catholic Churches Map”

  1. Thanks for the spotlight! The map is certainly not comprehensive, since it only includes churches founded through 1900, though according to the sources I used, it covers everything through that date. I keep meaning to update it with later churches, but haven’t found the time.

    • And thanks for coming by to be thanked in person for that great map! So convenient for quick lookups. And the older churches are the ones I need the help with, most of the time :)

      • I read your blog all the time, and imagine how surprised I was yesterday to find that there was a post about something I had done!

        Of course, Google Maps kind of gutted the maps functionality of this type of map after I made it, so it’s not nearly as useful as it was intended to be. It used to be that, when looking at a map like this, you could search for another address, and it would drop that marker into the same map, so that you could easily see where your family’s address, for example, fell in relationship to the churches in the neighborhood. Now searching for a new address puts it on a clean map, and if there’s still a way to look at both on one map, I haven’t found it :-/

  2. chmjr2 says:

    Avery nice tool to use. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers