Flipping Over Genealogy (At NGS 2012, Of Course)

Dear friends, I’m at the National Genealogical Society’s 2012 Family History Conference in Cincinnati, Ohio. There is much wonderful information and insight to study and ponder here — overwhelming, really.

In fact, it’s almost as overwhelming as my hotel wireless connection is underwhelming, leaving everything I load image-challenged. Mr. Archaeologist assures me that back home, my images are just lovely,  so I’m going to take it on faith that the photos on this post are showing up. Sort of like the courtiers in “The Emperor’s New Clothes,” I guess.

From Day One: Here are some contrasting views. First, the Big Exhibit Hall with all the genealogy bells and whistles:

And next: Guess what! The genealogists are sharing space with the gymnasts! That’s the Men’s Junior Olympic Nationals going on across the hall.

It was fascinating watching the twists and turns and somersaults for a few minutes, before returning to the mental gymnastics in the conference seminar rooms. The lectures have been lively, humorous and thought-provoking. My only gripe is that I want to go to all of them, and I cannot figure out how to clone myself. Many lectures will eventually be available on CD-ROM via a link on the NGS conference page, which is a comfort.

As ever when I attend an event like this, at day’s end I am tempted to bang my head on my hotel-room desk with all the fresh realizations of things I coulda/woulda/shoulda done in my research. But only momentarily. The dominant chord is always excitement. Yesterday’s shoulda-dones are just that … done. The future, on the other hand, is looking good, what with all these bright new shiny genealogy ideas to play with.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers