NewsClips: Obituary for Peter Kelleher, 1932

Recently, I came across the death notice for one of my great-grandfathers, Peter Kelleher, who lived with my grandmother and her family during the last years of his life.

Brooklyn Daily Eagle, New York, Wednesday, April 13, 1932, Page 10

PETER KELLEHER died Tuesday at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Raymond Haigney, 519 Court St. He was the husband of the late Catherine Kearney and is survived by his daughter; two sons, Frank and Michael McKenna; a brother, Bernard Kelleher, and a sister, Mrs. Harry Scofield. The funeral will be held on Friday at 9:30 a.m. from his home; thence to St. Mary Star of the Sea Church; where a solemn mass of requiem will be celebrated. Interment will be in Holy Cross Cemetery.

Notes:

1. Peter Kelleher was the father of my paternal grandmother, Margaret Kelleher Haigney. My father, Peter J. Haigney, was named for him (over my grandmother’s objections, but that’s another story.) He was born in 1864 in Leitrim, Ireland.

2. The two sons listed, Frank and Michael McKenna, are actually stepsons. My great-grandmother, Kate Kearney, was the widow of Peter McKenna before marrying Peter Kelleher.

3. Well look at that: I hadn’t heard of my great-grandfather’s sister, Mrs. Harry Scofield, before reading this obituary and am trying to find out more about her.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers