Links, 12.27.10

I really should be outside with my husband and the eldest child, clearing snow from our whoops-almost-White-Christmas. But here I am, inside in my jammies, preparing this week’s links. The sacrifices I make for you people.

Reunited: A joyous reunion for two daughters of an Irish immigrant — one in Boston, one in England. There was a video attached, and watching the sisters talk via Skype gave me chills. In a good way.

A great warmup: On this snowbound day, I am warmed by re-reading Schelly Talalay Dardashti’s transcription of an Ethiopian Jewish recipe for chicken stew, even though I cannot venture out to find the ingredients for it. Some days a person needs stuff like this, if only just to read about it.

History in the making: Via the Times-Colonist of Victoria, an interesting article on professional personal historians and the work they do. I was struck by the prior work histories described by those interviewed: one was a crisis-line counselor, one a documentarian, another a radio reporter. Sounds about right.

What worked: I liked this rundown by Tina Sansone at Bella Online about which genealogy resources helped her research the most this year, and why.

What’s next: Aaaand it’s time for 2011 goal setting, people. No excuses. Kathleen at Misadventures of a Genealogist throws down a really comprehensive, well-thought-out list! Go Kathleen! I am not jealous and resentful at ALL. See? Excuse me while I chew up some carpet now.

The End: Is it already time for the 52nd Week To Better Genealogy? How fast a year flies.

Now I really must pull on my boots and help clear out the 20+ inches of white stuff in the double driveway. I am not a completely heartless person, after all. See you!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers